I am he

Of old have you laid the foundation of the earth: and the heavens are the work of your hands. They shall perish, but you shall endure: yea, all of them shall grow old like a garment; as a vesture shall you change them, and they shall be changed: But you are the same, and your years shall have no end. (Psalm 102:25-27)

I the LORD, the first, and with the last; I am he. (Isaiah 41:4)

Knowledgeable christians should recognise portions of these passages. The Jesus-worshippers among them will say that the new testament books of Hebrews and Revelations applies these passages from the Jewish Bible to Jesus. They will say that since these passages talk about God in the “old testament” and the new testament applies them to Jesus, therefore Jesus is God.

Amazingly enough, these texts refute the very idea that Jesus could be God.

How so?

Both of these passages say a similar thing. They refer to the eternity of God. That means the timeless nature of God. God created time, he is outside of its power. 

To be outside of time means that God’s nature is exactly the same way right now as it was back thousands of years ago. It will be exactly the same thousands of years in the future. At any moment in time, God can say “I’m the same one,” or “I am he.”

The same cannot be said for a human. Humans grow older. We start this life stupid, lacking understanding and knowledge. We grow, change, mature. I’m not the same person I was when I was born. My knowledge, maturity, size and capacity has changed as well as many other things about me. I can’t say “I am the same” as the person I was when I was born.

Now look at the Jesus presented by the new testament. He wa born, he grew up, he grew in wisdom, his body and mind changed over his life according to the new testament. His body was also changed due to injury and death. That dude was like any human, changing, maturing, etc.

Comparing the changeless, eternal, timeless God with the changing, growing, developing Jesus, stuck in time as any human, it is plain to see that Jesus was not God at all!

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am he

  1. Cheryl says:

    Jesus resurrected from the dead. He was the Son of God and the son of Man. He was both. He fulfilled the many prophecies concerning his life. The probability of that happening are beyond astronomical. There are high probabilities that people play when they do lotteries of five or six numbers. In the case of Jesus, there are over 200 prophecies about the life of Christ. Impossible to converge in one person, unless that person is the Son of God, whom Jesus is.

    • hesedyahu says:

      “Jesus resurrected from the grave.”

      Resurrecting is not a sign of what the messiah is. There is no prophecy in the Jewish Bible that OVERTLY, EXPLICITLY, AND TEXTUALLY says that the messiah would die and resurrect. So the resurrection is irrelevant and also proves that Jesus is in NO WAY God. God lives forever. An immortal being cannot die and therefore cannot be resurrected. And if you claim that it’s only the human part that died, then you preach a christian heresy that the humanity and supposed divinity of Jesus can be separated and you prove that the humanity of Jesus was NOT God. It was the not-God part of God that died. Since it wasn’t God, it couldn’t accomplish what christians claim.

      “He was the son of God and the son of man. He was both.”

      So is an Israelite. So was Solomon. Deuteronomy 14:1, Israelites are children of God and also the children of men. 2 Samuel 7:14 and 1 Chronicles 22:9-10, Solomon was both a son of God and a son of a man. So you haven’t said anything of worth.

      “he fulfilled many prophecies …”

      I personally have studied over 300 supposed prophecies about Jesus as well as real messianic prophecies is the Jewish Bible. He fulfilled none of them.

      You made claims without evidence and with the Jewish Bible giving sufficient counter-evidence. So you’ve added nothing of worth to this blog.

Leave a Reply

