Altogether dirty

It is impressed upon the christian that he and she are no good, that the deeds of any person is seen as filthy rags before God. It is a necessary building block in the structure of the necessity of sacrifice, payment for sins. As Paul said in Galatians, if righteousness could come from obeying what God says (deeds of the law), if all our deeds were not filthy, Jesus would have died for nothing (Galatians 2:21).

What is the right response to this claim?

God told Cain as very early in human history that, although sin desires Cain, Cain can rule over it (Genesis 4:7). God said through Moses that obeying the law would be righteousness for Israel (Deuteronomy 6:25), that he gave Israel a choice of good and evil, and that good and life was accessible and possible by keeping God’s way of doing right (Deuteronomy 30). God showed Ezekiel that a person changing his ways to do good merits forgiveness and life (Ezekiel 18).

Again and again and again, the Jewish Bible says that the acts of a person is what is needed and sufficient. Again and again, the God who made humanity reinforces the idea that man is not helpless. God has given man the ability to come closer to him by doing what he says.

Our acts only become filthy when we reject God. Our goodness is like rags when they are wicked acts. But God tells us what is required and it is not the doctrine of Paul. God does not say that the ONLY or even the best way to come approach him is with blood. He never even says that a perfect blood sacrifice is what he wants.

How shall I approach God, to bow to the God of heaven? Shall I approach him with ascent offerings, with calves a year old? Does God find pleasure in thousands of rams, with a multitude of rivers of oil? Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my womb for the sin of my soul? It has been shown to you, oh man, what is good and what God requires of you …”

That’s Micah 6:6-8a. It’s what God is saying to any man. Does God require the death of God, or the death of a perfect man? Does Micah preach that a man can do nothing to approach God because man is but a sinner and God is so holy he can’t even look at sin? Does he preach the “altogether dirty” doctrine?

Hell no!

It’s been shown to you, O man, what is good and what God asks of you, if only to act justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. (Micah 6:8)

The simplicity of the Jewish Bible, the direct message of the prophets show Paul to be the deceiver he is.

Yet even up until today, people are repeatedly told what contradicts God’s foundational revelation and accept it as if God has said it. What a contemptuous doctrine Paul promulgated, one of his many sins against God!

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Altogether dirty

  1. Brenda McCloud says:

    I am a graduate of Asbury Theological Seminary with a Master of Divinity and former minister.. Through much searching and seeing the need for more social action, I am now a converted Jew with Reform Judaism. I love the lively discussions without “pat” answers like in Christianity. My husband and I do not question or try to threaten or convert anyone, but encourage anyone whatever their faith or belief or no belief in a god at all.

  2. searchinmyroots says:

    Another great and wise post David! But it really won’t “shake” Christians because they think what is written in the Hebrew Bible (what they call old) has been overruled by the Christian writings. I bring up the same verses you have and even add II Chronicles 7:14 which just shows again what G-d wants and how we are forgiven –
    And My people, upon whom My name is called, humble themselves and pray and seek My presence and repent of their evil ways, I shall hear from heaven and forgive their sin and heal their land.

    This verse not only confirm what the other one say, but it also proves the “Rabbi’s didn’t change how we are forgiven for sin after the Temple was destroyed”.

    But even after I mention all of these things, which are all 100% from the Hebrew bible and not some outside writings, I hear the following –

    “Yes that is what it says, but it’s from the Old Testament before Jesus”

    At this point there is no use in continuing the conversation because my answer would be –

    EXACTLY!! So who changed the Word of G-d??

Leave a Reply

