A response: Judaism isn’t christianity minus Jesus

Jesus is not the only difference between the Torah worldview and the christian one. One resource I can point to you is as follows:

Judaism and Christianity the differences /c by Trude Weiss-Rosmarin – https://archive.org/details/judaismchristian00weis

I found this book very insightful.

There is a facebook page/group called “Judaism is not christianity minus Jesus” (https://www.facebook.com/nojesus4jews/). That point is very very true. Think about it. Jesus is not simply messiah for many christians and messianics … hmmm … I essentially said the same thing twice; they’re both just christians. Anyway, Jesus isn’t simply the messiah. What is messiah according to the Jewish Bible? In a very basic sense, he is just the future anointed king of Israel, much like king David. He is just the sign of the fact that God himself is causing a restoration on the earth. That’s why the Jewish Bible doesn’t focus on the identity of the character but just what will happen in his times. Plus the clear statements about him are very few. The emphasis of the Jewish Bible is God and our connection to him by means of our righteousness or our wickedness.

So what is Jesus to a christian? Let me speak for myself. I remember the songs I used to sing. “Jesus, you’re the centre of my joy.” “Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine.” “Nothing but the blood of Jesus.” I remember the songbook that I used to have in the church I used to belong to. Once I started recognising that there was a distinction between God and Jesus, my eyes were then open to the fact that the songbook was full of songs about Jesus but not many at all about the Father, about God. Paul’s focus in his letters is the importance of belief in the Jesus he was preaching about. The fact is that Jesus is the centre of devotion. It’s called CHRISTianity. It’s called MESSIAnic “Judaism” (even though it’s not). The focus is not God, it’s Jesus. Can you be forgiven without Jesus? No! Can you get to God without Jesus? No. What is your life without Jesus as a christian? You will be dead in your sins! Jesus is painted over the whole Jewish Bible even where he is not mentioned. Who is Joseph? A type of Jesus. And Moses? A type of Jesus. What about David? A type of Jesus. All the prophets supposedly only spoke of Jesus. In John’s eyes, “Abraham rejoiced to see [Jesus’] day.”

Do you see it yet? Do you see that this isn’t simply about another Jewish king? This is about the core of devotion, a most beloved and elevated object. God said “don’t put any other god in front of me.” Yet christians have put Jesus in front of God, between them and God, so that the glory that irradiates the concept and truth of God shines around Jesus. It’s a deception, a dementing deception. It’s a devotion, and to let go of something you are wholly devoted to is no simple thing. (I may make an article out of this. I hope you don’t mind.)

Remember, you can change no one. If you have family that is christian, all you can do is present the evidence if the opportunity presents itself with wisdom and the appropriate attitude and then leave it to them. That’s it. The role of the watchman is only to warn the people of danger, not to force them out of the city. If the people don’t listen, then it’s their own responsibility. You are responsible for your own life. I know, it’s not easy when all your family is on one side and it seems as if you’re on the other. My father, mother, brother, sister and wife are christian. My wife’s family are mainly christian. If I focus on that it can be quite maddening. All I can do is focus on what we do have in common and work with that while maintaining personal relationships. I get along quite well with them because they know where I stand, I don’t come across as judgmental and I can still have a nice conversation about many biblical subjects, even the Jesus notion, whilst being clear about where I stand. The best thing I can do for myself is study for myself and get intimate with Torah to make sure I’m protected, not just against christianity but also against the atheism, secularism, statism, postmodernism and other religions and beliefs that look to subtly work their way into my mind.

I hope this can be a help to someone.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A response: Judaism isn’t christianity minus Jesus

  1. searchinmyroots says:

    Another great post!
    I can relate to your situation as I also am surrounded by born again Christians on my wife’s side of the family. To tell the truth, they have left me alone recently as they know that I know about my own bible, the Hebrew one! But they always like to talk in general about their “miracles” and “testimonies”, somehow thinking that is going to sway me or others. Now I’m not discounting how people’s lives have been changed for the good and I’m happy for them in a way. But that doesn’t mean they have the truth as we can clearly see by what they base their faith on.

    So yes, I agree, we must focus on what we have in common and not be judgemental. But of course if there does arise an occasion where they ask me a question or my opinion, I will give them an answer or even at times say I really don’t want to talk about it.

    If they don’t agree with me and give me the old “you are self righteous” talk, then I will defend myself or just tell them they can believe whatever they want and I will do the same.

    Hang in there buddy, you are not alone!

    • hesedyahu says:

      I’m very glad you saw something good in that article. Thanks for the comment.

      RootSearcher, I was berating the stupidity of atheists who use what God has given them to condemn him, and then I was told by a christian that they thought I was stupid for not accepting Jesus. Yet when I asked that christian what facts they have to state that I must accept Jesus they have nothing. In fact, they say that my weakness (my “weakness”) is that I know the Bible too much. You get that? Because I know the Bible too much, that’s what helps make me stupid?!?!

      The amount of times christians come to me saying that the holy spirit is going to make me convert or they are going to pray that I change and the utter lack of them who actually bring me scripture … the amount of times they can’t even mount a scriptural case for their messiah figure and have to rely on leaflets and DVDs from guys who crap all over the Jewish Bible like Chuck Missler … it’s pathetic and disappointing but not unexpected.

      Yes, we have to just work with the commonalities we have (just has we have to do with other people of different worldviews).

      But thanks for the encouragement.

      • searchinmyroots says:

        Yep, I get the same thing. They ask why I’m so bent on studying the words, that I should be more “moved by the spirit”. Oy vey!

        If they only read what the Hebrew bible says, they would see it says to teach your children. How do you teach if you don’t learn? And when you are being taught, you are learning. The only reason they believe a “holy spirit” is what changes them, is precisely that. That they believe it. Just like anyone else who believes in something so deeply.

        There is a testimony on Tenak Talk by the owner, wil’Liam Scott Hall, who left Christianity and gives a story of how a woman was told by her children that she had won the lottery. It wasn’t true, but the woman’s “life changed”. She was a new person, filled with joy and happiness, ready to go out and do things she never did before. Why? Because she believed it was true. So just because one believes in something doesn’t make it true. And if you believe it deeply, it can change your life!

        So yes, most Christians aren’t as concerned about what the Hebrew bible actually says and means, they are more concerned about how the “holy spirit” leads them.

        That’s okay, I’ll stick with the teachings of Judaism, even if they think it makes me blind!!

Leave a Reply

