Infinity of foolishnesses

“Furthermore, though He is a man, He is not merely a man. He is infinite and eternal. He is–by very nature–God (Hebrews 1). He has both a divine and a human nature. Since He is human, He can represent humans on the cross. Since He is God, His value is infinite. (“If Jesus died and stayed dead for two days and rose on the third, how is that enough to atone for the sins of the past, present, and future?” https://carm.org/atone-past-present-future)

There’s not much I need to write about this quote. I just ask that you look at it. There is a glaring contradiction there.

“He is a man …”

What is man? A limited being, a dying being. A human is caught in time and trapped in it, living every moment, one by one.

“He is infinite and eternal.”

God is unlimited and, being eternal, can never die. Being the Creator of time. he cannot be confined to it. The Creator is forever the Creator. And the created are forever the created.

Now note that. The unlimited limit? The dying immortal? Ending infinity?

Let me be so blunt with you!

This ain’t a mystery. There’s nothing mysterious about it. It’s a total contradiction. The phrase “God incarnate” is an oxymoron.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Infinity of foolishnesses

  1. Yedidiah says:

    Like the song by Kristofferson song goes “he is a walking contradiction, partly truth and partly fiction”. Of course Jesus might be all fiction, but in logic, a truth and a lie equals a lie. In the Hebrew bible, worshipping a “god” that is in a material object (or being) is called idolatry, an abomination. In the Hebrew bible, God said He was not a man (to do so, He would lie). Did God lie or is a pagan god-man a lie invented by men? In math, there is nothing greater than 100%, so saying a being is 100% god & 100% Man is equal to saying there is absolutely NO difference between a man & a god.

  2. Yedidiah says:

    To say there is no difference between a man and “the divine” is “humanism” – you might as well say “God does not exist” (that is far worse than what most atheists would say, since most atheists would say only that there is not enough evidence to believe the claim that God or gods exist).

Leave a Reply

