A simple refutation to the notion that Jesus was the promised king and anointed one

So this came to my mind yesterday but I thought I’d think about it a bit before I type it out.

I’ve come to the conclusion that with regards to the claim that Jesus is the special king foretold about in the Jewish Bible there is a simple refutation. There is a simple fact that fundamentally contradicts the claim. And just like last time, I’m sure people are gonna walk away from it as if I had said nothing at all, or something mundane. But I still believe it to be a devastating weakness to the christian claim that Jesus is the promised king descended from David. I think if you consider the wording of this refutation, you may understand why it kicks the legs from underneath the christian pomp.

You ready?

You sure?

Ok. Here goes!

Jesus did not do what the plain reading of the Jewish Bible says the promised Davidic king would do.

You know what? As I’m feeling generous, I’ll add another important refutation for free.

Jesus did not do what the plain reading of the Jewish Bible says about moshiach, an anointed one.

Now some may be taken aback by such outlandish claims. But I don’t even believe I need to go through some lengthy article to explain myself. Why? Because it is important to take my words for what they say, because at their crux, it is not about what people believe about Jesus or the role they believe he fulfilled from some hodgepodge of Jewish Bible texts they take for their purposes. And it’s not about “I believe the Messiah should do x and this verse says x,” i.e., the belief about messiah or the Davidic king comes before what the Jewish Bible actually says. The foundation of my refutations is about what the Jewish Bible actually says in contexts directly relevant to the subject.

Let’s take the easy one: what the plain reading Jewish Bible says about “messiah”. In the Hebrew, the word “moshiach” is used 39 times. The question is this: what does the Jewish Bible say about “moshiach,” about an anointed one? The first usages refer to certain Aaronic priests. The next main usages of the word are the chosen kings. It seems to be linked with the process of using special oil, putting or smearing it on a person to show he’s designated to be a priest or a political king. And it is used for a foreign king. None of the usages of this word is unambiguously about the specific chosen promised Davidic king to come, even the two usages in Daniel. And what is most telling is that none of the plain usages of that word prophesy Jesus. In fact, the way the word is used doesn’t refer to Jesus. He wasn’t an anointed Aaronic priest. And he wasn’t a ruling king of Israel like Saul or David. He wasn’t officially anointed with the special oil like them and accepted by the mainstay of the Jewish people as ruling king. So Jesus doesn’t fulfil the way the Jewish Bible talks about “moshiach.”

And if a person looks for what the Jewish Bible says about that specific promised Davidic king, the failure of Jesus is blatantly obvious and terribly tragic, tragic for those who have absorbed the lie with such deep sincerity. They devote themselves to this man so deeply that sometimes their acceptance of God is based on devotion to this man, another mutilation of the truth of God and the ancient understanding of being an anointed on. Can you really imagine an ancient Israelite being so wrapped up in their Aaronic moshiach priest, a human being, that when they lose trust in that priest, they forsake God? “I only believe in God only because I accept Nadab has anointed priest.” That would be cause for concern, seriously.

The fact is that Jesus failed to live up to the role dictated by the plain reading of the Jewish Bible for promised Davidic king and anointed one.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A simple refutation to the notion that Jesus was the promised king and anointed one

  1. remi4321 says:

    Easy refutation of Psalm 45 and Psalm 110, to refute those who want to use them as proof… “Jesus was never a king, so you cannot use that as proof that he fulfilled psalm 45 and 110, because that has not happened yet.”

    We can also use it for Micah 5:2, Psalm 2 and Zechariah 9. A proof needs to have actually happened and being able to be verified, if not, it is not a proof!

    Jesus was not a king, and if you want to say he was a Spiritual King, well, good for him, but that cannot be verified.

Leave a Reply

