Clarifying issues

So some of the articles on this site have focused on the “divine Jesus” notion, and some have questioned or contradicted the notion that Jesus was “messiah”. But let me share my view on the issues at play here, the more fundamental issues.

The “divine Jesus” notion and the “Jesus as the messiah” belief are two separate questions with two different sets of ramifications and consequences. Now this will be treated differently from the claims that christians make that a routine mundane execution (which was done to thousands of other people) was somehow a sacrifice for sin and the other claims that one denomination of christianity or another makes.

To believe that any dude is the promised anointed Davidic king spoken of in the Jewish Bible when such a guy didn’t even fulfil the explicit prophecies about this Davidic king and the era that surrounded his coming didn’t come about, to believe that is simply foolish. But that’s far as it goes. Of course, I don’t promote foolishness as good or praiseworthy, but it doesn’t go as far as the next claim made by denominations of christianity. So there are christians that accept Jesus as the promised king, yet don’t believe he is “God in the flesh” or God at all. Their belief in this notion that Jesus is the solely-human promised anointed king declared from the Hebrew Bible is wrong and mistaken for what would appear to some to be blatantly obvious reasons. But it doesn’t break any foundational divine laws or principles.

To believe that any man is God or god is much more serious. And to worship him as such is idolatry, just as if a person believed that God was manifest in a tree, a rock, or a crafted image and carried out that belief by bowing down to such a form or praying to it. God made plain in the Jewish Bible, in the foundational revelation of the Torah, that no form was associated to him. It’s a important principle for any human not to worship created forms, any aspect of the universe. This includes believing that a man was God or is God, or that God becomes a man, or that an intermediary was/is God and should be worshipped as such. To say “I worship Jesus” is inextricably linked to the experience of a human being that walked this earth and was dependent on air. That’s the worship of a man no matter at which point someone claims he was or became God.

Being wrong or foolish in a way that doesn’t involve idolatry is not something to be congratulated. Falsehoods in this vein should be combated, and I’ll use what occasion I can to show that Jesus could not be the promised Davidic king. At least this sort of foolishness is somewhat lighter than the other philosophy that is common amongst mainstream christian sects. A heavier, more serious issue is the worship of a man as God. This sort of thinking should not be ignored when it transgresses the core principles for any human being.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

