More Servant Stupidities – Part 2

OK, back to Servant Stupidities. Last time we looked at how the “Servant of God” reveals the polytheism of “the groupers”, christians that claim that God is a group in one form or another, whether they claim God is three distinct persons, or two distinct persons.

Then you’ll meet the christians that really claim that God is indivisibly one. And they will mean it. Their view is called “the oneness doctrine” or modalism. In this belief, the father, son and holy spirit are not distinct persons. They are manifestations of the exact same God. Whereas groupers will say the father is not the son and the son is not the holy spirit and the holy spirit is not the father, the oneness people will ultimately say that these are just illusions of perception, but that they are all covers, masks, or modes of the same person.

It’s important that you see the difference. Groupers say that the Father is not the Son, they are distinct or separate entities: they are not the same person. The oneness posse will say that “father” and “son” are just manifestations of the same person, the same person being God.

So let’s see where that leads us.

Question: So Jesus is the servant of God?
Honest answer from oneness: Yes
Question: But isn’t Jesus and God the same person?
Honest answer: Yes
Question: So if Jesus are God is the same person, then is there really a servant?
Honest answer: errrr …
Question: I mean using language normally, a person can’t be his own servant. So is there a servant? The scriptures say that God has a servant, but you’re essentially saying God has no servant.

At this point, you may see the problem. The oneness doctrine undermines the words altogether making the very statement “servant of God” meaningless.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Servant Stupidities – Part 2

  1. Andrew says:

    Oneness doctrine churches represent just over one percent of Christians, so this isn’t a conversation many people are likely to have. I’m a Christian, and I’ve never met one. Even so, most oneness churches don’t consider themselves to be modalists.

    The second question is ambiguous. Jesus was a man with a mother, a birthday, and fingernails. The Greek Scriptures don’t actually say “Jesus is God,” they also don’t quote him to say “I am God,” and in not doing so I think they avoid the ambiguity that your hypothetical oneness Christian gets himself into. What you’re saying is that this Christian is honest but incorrect, I get that, but I think you’re making the same errors in these little hypothetical discourses.

    Again, if you’re interested in real discourse with real Christians, and not just hypothetical ones, there are forums for that.

    • hesedyahu says:

      I’ve been a christian. I’m not one now. And throughout my years I have experienced them many times. So likelihood is irrelevant when it comes to experience. You have your opinion on what your greek writings say and mean. Others have different opinions. You are entitled to think what you like about my writings. For now, it doesn’t matter too much. I’m in enough contact with christians to discuss with them in real life. Many times it’s those real life discussions that generate my blogs.

    • hesedyahu says:

      By the way, this isn’t a forum. It’s a blog where I speak my thoughts with or without conversation. I never stated that I want a forum. So for future comments of yours, what you’re offering I’m not interested. I have my own ways and means. Thanx.

  2. searchinmyroots says:

    I am having the same type of discussion with a Christian now. He used the old “H2O” analogy. Water can be 3 different things and still be H2O.

Leave a Reply

