Simple Truths: Faith vs Reality

Just take a good look at those verses that overtly and outrightly speak of the anointed Davidic king. No, I never said those that supposedly speak of Jesus. I mean those passages that are clear predictions about a special future ruler, a literal king of Israel that was to come and the sorts of things that would happen in his day. What is clear in these biblical passages is that the things that God would do in that time would visibly change the world in such a way that faith in their fulfilment would not be needed: world peace, universal worship of God and the obliteration of idolatry, the holy temple standing in Jerusalem with God’s presence residing in it, and Israel and Judah unified dwelling in the land of Israel safely and securely keeping God’s law.

Compare this to Jesus and the “prophecies” he’s supposed to have fulfilled: they are either invisible in such a way that they cannot be verified, or they are so general they make no difference. A death, which, if put forward as a sacrifice according to Torah standards, would fail on every single point? Salvation from sin, but his followers still sin like anyone else? Born in Bethlehem, like many other thousands or millions of people in history (even though the context of biblical passage has nothing to do with Jesus)? Rode on a donkey, like many others (but he never brought the peace mentioned right after the prophecy)? The forgiveness or salvation he is meant to bring is invisible. All that was seen, assuming he existed, was the execution of a Jew who was killed in the same way as thousands of others. Being born in Bethlehem and riding on donkeys don’t end wars or do much else than leave the people of Bethlehem some blood to clean up, or the cleaners at the gates of Jerusalem some donkey excrement to remove. These are things that fade in a little time like the unique movement made at one single moment of time when a flurry of wind moves grass: the movement is there and then it is gone and the world fundamentally goes on in much the same way.

You see, the real “messiah” and his age are so real and true that you would have to be blind and out of touch with reality to mistake what is right in your face as evidenced in the real world. Jesus and his claims, or the claims made about him, are so vacuous, empty, and without real backing that you would have to be blind and out of touch with reality to think he’s the real thing.

About hesedyahu

I'm a gentile living in UK, a person who has chosen to take upon himself the responsibility God has given to all gentiles. God is the greatest aspect of my life and He has blessed me with a family. I used to be a christian, but I learnt the errors of my ways. I love music. I love to play it on the instruments I can play, I love to close my eyes and feel the groove of it. I wrote my songs when I was single and not so happy and since I've been married, I haven't written as much. I guess that shows how happy and blessed I am. What else is there?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

